Trainings to Address Anti-Asian/Asian American Harassment

One way we can take action to protect our communities is to learn ways to intervene effectively as a bystander without compromising safety. We’ve had a tremendous demand for these trainings and are continuing to work to provide more opportunities for folks to attend and learn these tools. Please note you must register in advance for all trainings; after registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. They will be capped at 1,000 people.

We also offer more extensive conflict de-escalation training for people who have already taken the Bystander Intervention training and training on how to respond to anti-Asian hate for people who are being harassed themselves. Additional information about each training and upcoming dates can be found below.

Trainings to Combat Anti-Asian Hate Graphic

Bystander Intervention to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment

Since April 2020, we have partnered with Right To Be (formerly Hollaback!) for a virtual workshop on bystander intervention. The one-hour, interactive training will teach you Right To Be's 5 D's of bystander intervention methodology.

  • We'll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now -- from microaggressions to violence -- using a tool we call the "spectrum of disrespect."
  • You'll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities.
  • We'll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening.
  • We'll have time at the end for practice, and you'll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see Anti-Asian and Asian American harassment online or in-person.
TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Thursday, September 8 (with Cantonese and Mandarin interpretation). 2pm Hawaii / 4pm Alaska / 5pm Pacific / 6pm Mountain / 7pm Central / 8pm Eastern. Register here.
  • Thursday, September 15 (with Korean and Vietnamese interpretation). 2pm Hawaii / 4pm Alaska / 5pm Pacific / 6pm Mountain / 7pm Central / 8pm Eastern. Register here.

Bystander Intervention: Conflict De-Escalation

If you’ve already taken our Bystander Intervention training and you’re looking to go deeper into how to directly intervene and de-escalate conflict: this training is for you. Conflict de-escalation requires patience, a willingness to listen, and an ability to see the humanity in everyone, even those we don’t agree with or who seek to hurt us. Using Right To Be’s Observe-Breathe-Connect methodology, we’ll learn how to identify potential conflict before it escalates using our “pyramid of escalation” and how to assess whether intervening is the right action for you. We’ll talk about specific biases that are increasing conflict, harassment, and violence during COVID-19 — and the role of implicit and explicit bias in conflict. We’ll also learn how to connect with others by validating and de-escalating their feelings — even if we don’t understand them or agree with them.  We’ll have time at the end to practice using real-life scenarios.

TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Thursday, August 18. 11am Hawaii / 1pm Alaska / 2pm Pacific / 3pm Mountain / 4pm Central / 5pm Eastern. Register here.

How to Respond to Harassment for People Experiencing Anti-Asian/American Harassment

After attending our bystander intervention trainings, many Asian/Americans want to know — how do I take care of myself when I experience harassment? If that’s a question you’re asking — this training is for you.

During this one-hour, highly interactive training you’ll learn Right To Be’s methodology for responding to harassment: 1) Trust your Instincts, 2) Reclaim Your Space, and 3) Practice Resilience. You’ll learn how your identities can shape your experience of harassment and the impact that harassment has on you and your community as a whole. We’ll talk about what to look for when assessing your safety, and how to determine if responding in the moment is the right action or not. We’ll also take a deep dive into how to build your resilience on an individual, interpersonal, organizational, community, and societal front. You’ll leave with new tools on how to respond to harassment, whether your response is in the moment while that harassment is happening or long-term.

TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:
  • Thursday, August 11. 10am Hawaii / 12pm Alaska / 1pm Pacific / 2pm Mountain / 3pm Central / 4pm Eastern. Register here.

Additional Resources

Anti-Asian and Asian American and xenophobic harassment is on the rise across the U.S. Unfortunately, anti-Asian and Asian American racism and xenophobia are not a new phenomenon. It has been part of our history for a long time, and we have seen it manifested against different communities in many ways over the years. As the COVID-19 pandemic escalates, we have seen more harassment, discrimination, and even violence directed at our communities. The Asian Americans Advancing Justice affiliation has been documenting hate crimes and incidents since 2017 through our website at StandAgainstHatred.org, which is available in Chinese, English, Korean, and Vietnamese. More resources are available on our new COVID-19 page.