Senator Mazie Hirono To Be Honored With the 2022 American Courage Award at Advancing Justice – AAJC’s October 21st Event

Woori Show Co-Creator and Sesame Street Puppeteer, Kathleen Kim, and Board Chair for Advancing Justice – AAJC Parkin Lee To Also Receive Award Honors
For Immediate Release
Michelle Boykins (202) 296-2300, ext. 0144
Vivin Qiang 202-780-9327

Washington, D.C. — Asian Americans Advancing Justice – AAJC (Advancing Justice – AAJC) will recognize U.S. Senator Mazie Hirono with the American Courage Award, Kathleen Kim with the Changemaker Award, and the President’s Award to Parkin Lee during its annual American Courage Awards event on October 21. Actor and Broadway star, Paolo Montalban, will serve as host for the evening’s festivities.

“The recipients of the American Courage, Changemaker, and President’s Awards have been on the front lines of fighting for the Asian American community: in Congress like Senator Mazie Hirono; increasing media representation for Asian Americans like Kathleen Kim; and outstanding individuals who help advance the civil and human rights for Asian Americans like Advancing Justice – AAJC’s Board of Directors Chair, Parkin Lee,” said Advancing Justice – AAJC’s President and Executive Director, John C. Yang.

For more than thirty years, Advancing Justice – AAJC has honored pioneers in the Asian American community who break barriers, challenge stereotypes, and elevate the culture and history of Asian Americans in this country. This year, Senator Mazie Hirono tops the list of honorees as the 2022 American Courage Award recipient. This award honors an individual, company, or organization that has shown extraordinary courage or commitment to civil rights.

Kathleen Kim, who is co-creator of the Woori Show and puppeteer for Ji-Young, Sesame Street’s first Asian American puppet, will receive the Changemaker Award.  The Changemaker Award honors an individual, company or organization that is a catalyst for change and whose leadership has inspired action that has led to change on a local or national level that benefits Asian American communities.

The event will open with the presentation of the President’s Award, which is a special honor given to individuals and organizations that have been longtime supporters of Advancing Justice | AAJC's mission to advance civil and human rights for Asian Americans and to build and promote a fair and equitable society for all. Outgoing Chair of the Board of Directors, Parkin Lee, will receive the honor in recognition of his more than 30-year career as a legal professional, philanthropist, and champion of Asian American civil rights.

Yang continued, “In the work we do there are so many champions for justice, and I am pleased to have the opportunity to recognize these three amazing human beings. I am also filled with pride to introduce the Norman Y. Mineta Spirit Award that will forever honor the legacy of Asian American trailblazer Norm Mineta, former Secretary of Commerce for President Bill Clinton and former Secretary of Transportation for President George W. Bush.”

The event will be held at the National Press Club and streamed live at on October 21.