Analysis

Coronavirus/COVID-19 Resources to Stand Against Racism

March 23, 2020

Asian Americans have been targeted by racism and xenophobia related to the coronavirus or COVID-19. We offer the following resources in response to this hate.

 

Report hate incidents to StandAgainstHatred.org

Facts, Not Fear

For health information, please refer to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and World Health Organization.

In addition, the Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum has been compiling multilingual resources on the coronavirus and COVID-19 in their Community Library: Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander In-Language Resources for Coronavirus.

Visit the AAPI Emergency Response Network website at aapiern.org

The AAPI Emergency Response Network (ERN), born out of a collaboration between the National Council of Asian Pacific Americans (NCAPA) and other non-profit groups, is a compilation of resources on health, hate incidents, small business, and more specifically for the Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities.

Resources to Document and Address Hate

We encourage reporting to our website, www.StandAgainstHatred.org, which is accessible in Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese.

Asian Americans Advancing Justice created this site in January 2017 to capture information about the increase in hate we observed in the lead-up to the 2016 election. Through this website, we document hate crimes, harassment, and discrimination experienced by our community. As we state on the site, when people submit reports, they are aiding our efforts to monitor and push back against hate. “By sharing what you experienced or witnessed, you can educate the public, empower others, show service providers where help is needed, and strengthen advocacy efforts for hate crimes response and prevention.”

The following resources are available through Stand Against Hatred:

  • We partner with the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law and their Stop Hate project to provide assistance to those impacted by hate. Assistance with legal and social services is available through the Stop Hate hotline (1-844-9-NO-HATE), which is accessible in a number of languages.
  • Asian Americans Advancing Justice is part of Communities Against Hate, a diverse coalition of civil rights organizations led by the Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights. Read the report Hate Magnified published by the coalition in January 2019 that details reports submitted to Communities Against Hate.

Discrimination should never be acceptable anywhere. We encourage our communities and allies to learn about ways to respond:

 

Sign up for a bystander intervention training in May.

 

Bystander Intervention Virtual Trainings

One way we can take action to protect our communities is to learn ways to intervene effectively as a bystander without compromising safety. We're excited to announce that Hollaback! and Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC are partnering for a virtual workshop on bystander intervention.
 
The one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!'s 5 D's of bystander intervention methodology.

  • We'll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now -- from microaggressions to violence -- using a tool we call the "spectrum of disrespect."
  • You'll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities.
  • We'll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening.
  • We'll have time at the end for practice, and you'll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see Anti-Asian and Asian American harassment online or in-person.

Sign up for an upcoming training!

  • Thursday, May 21st at 7:00pm ET / 6:00pm CT / 5:00pm MT / 4:00pm PT / 1:00pm HSTRegister here.
  • Saturday, May 30th at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. Register here.
  • Wednesday, June 3rd at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. Register here.
  • Wednesday, June 10th at 4:00pm ET / 3:00pm CT / 2:00pm MT / 1:00pm PT / 10:00am HST. Register here.
  • Thursday, June 18th at 7:00pm ET / 6:00pm CT / 5:00pm MT / 4:00pm PT / 1:00pm HST. Register here.
  • Thursday, June 25th at 4:00pm ET / 3:00pm CT / 2:00pm MT / 1:00pm PT / 10:00am HST. Register here.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. The training is currently only offered in English but we are seeking funding to expand it into other languages.

More Resources from Hollaback!

Additional Resources

  • IMPACT Bay Area Training:  Free online classes to empower the community during the pandemic, including "Facing AAPI Race-Based Harassment" - Register here

This 90-minute class will introduce strategies that can be helpful in the face of race-based harassment like adrenaline management, de-escalation, and verbal boundary setting, as well as bystander intervention. This class is for AAPI identified and presenting individuals. Registration required, limited to 25 participants in each class.

 

Words Matter

We are working with the media, Congress, and partner organizations to inform around the harm of this xenophobia.

Media Hits

Stand against discrimination